Gadgetry

As long as I can remember, I have loved gadgets. For some reason though, this love does not extend to cell phones which are the most diverse form of gadgetry around now-a-days. I remember, as a teenager, getting some kind of microphone for Christmas. It was wireless, and you were supposed to be able to broadcast over the FM radio. It worked occasionally but usually failed to connect. Later when stereo became “the” in-thing, I experimented with a regular AM and an FM radio so that I could hear sounds in  stereo. Those early broadcasts usually demonstrated a train passing from left to right. I was thrilled. This Christmas I received two excellent gadgets. My kids know their dad. One is a dual night-light set. Not only do the instruments work as night lights, but they light up automatically not only when it is dark but also when there is an electrical power interruption. One further option: they can be used as a flashlight. The other wonderful gadget is a wireless weather station. Not only does it measure the indoor temperature, but it also measures the outside temperature plus the amount of rainfall. Believe it or not, but it is self-emptying as well. Already I have a gadget that turns on and off the porch light so that I never come home in the dark. Thank you, gadget makers.

About Thom

I am an 85-year-old retired English teacher whose writing goals are fulfilled by publishing these blogs. I have a wonderful married partner, Dimitris Tsitsiras, who is from Greece. Life is good and still an adventure.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment