Alone but not Alonely

I have written blogs in times past regarding my loneliness on holidays. I made a distinction between alone and alonely. Alone, to me, is being around no one but yourself. Alonely, on the other hand, is a depressed state of mind when alone. I am happy to say that this Christmas season that, although I was alone, I was not alonely. I felt very much surrounded by the love of my family, the love of my God (and church), the love of my friends, and the love of Dimitris Tsitsiras and his family. Christmas day started with a phone call from Athens, Greece, at 7:30 in the morning. Dimitris spoke first but quickly said, “Mom wants to say something.” Then Maria took the phone and in beautiful English wished me a Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year. Tears came into my eyes as I felt the warmth from her voice, the voice of a lady whose love I covet. Dimitris honors his mother in many ways, but it requires that he hurt her by separating from her in order for us to be together. For this lady to ignore the hurt that is coming and wish me happy holidays was a most unselfish and kind thing to do. That message certainly started my Christmas Day off as a non-alonely day.

About bobosbest

I am a 79-year-old retired English teacher whose writing goals are fulfilled by publishing these blogs. I have a wonderful married partner, Dimitris Tsitsiras, who is from Greece. Life is good and still an adventure.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.