Rose’s Five and Ten (History)

Rose’s Five  and Ten

I was born in 1938 so I spent my teenage years in the 50′s. Recently, I was chatting with a friend who was talking about someone who had bought his reading glasses at a Dollar Store. What memories that brought back to me as I remembered that Uncle Frank, Aunt Myrtle’s husband, always bought his glasses at Rose’s Five and Ten in my hometown, Clinton, South Carolina. “Five and Ten.” Now that’s a term that is “gone with the wind” if ever there was one. I remember as a child loving to wander through Rose’s Five and Ten, looking at items I wanted and being fascinated especially with those that I couldn’t afford as the most I ever had with me was a quarter. No television then, only radio. Not even direct dial, which came later when I was in college. As the “Archie Bunker Show” proclaimed, “those were the days.” Well, today I do love the Dollar Stores, the 21st century replacement for the old Five and Ten’s. I go there for shampoo, for greeting cards, for cheap Halloween candy, but not for my reading glasses.

Reader, if you are not a follower of my blog, I hope you will become one. Go to www.bobosbest.wordpress.com and, on the bottom of the right hand corner, you will see the opportunity to sign up so that you can receive bobosbest automatically every time it is published. At present, I have 471 followers. If you’re not already a follower, click on the word FOLLOW and enter your e-mail address. Thank you.

About Thom

I am an 85-year-old retired English teacher whose writing goals are fulfilled by publishing these blogs. I have a wonderful married partner, Dimitris Tsitsiras, who is from Greece. Life is good and still an adventure.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment