On My Own Again

Dimitris and I have been happily married now for more than two years. As agreed to during our courtship, he would make a three trips per year to visit his mother and sister in Athens, Greece. I have been to Athens several times, but the visits are a challenge for me, a non-Greek speaker. When I am in Athens, I have trouble sharing Dimitris with his family. No wonder. When we are at home in St. Petersburg, I have his undivided attention. Because of the Athens challenge, I do not fly with him to Greece every time he goes home. When he is there, I am once again on my own to care for myself and do my best to ensure that I maintain a positive outlook. Beiing alone is easier now that we are partners than it was when I was a single man. Although I am lonesome when he is away, I am not without the hope and assurance that he will return. Then things will return to normal: he will resume the washing and ironing; he will return the shopping cart and bring in most of the groceries, giving me only the smaller less heavy bags. We will once again climb into bed together and kiss before turning over for sleep. I am the luckiest man in the world, especially when we are together and making plans for our future.

Reader, if you are not a follower of my blog, I hope you will become one. Go to http://www.bobosbest.wordpress.com and on the bottom of the right hand corner you will see the opportunity to sign up so that you receive this blog every time it is published. Click on the word FOLLOW and enter your e-mail address. Thank you.

 

About bobosbest

I am a 79-year-old retired English teacher whose writing goals are fulfilled by publishing these blogs. I have a wonderful married partner, Dimitris Tsitsiras, who is from Greece. Life is good and still an adventure.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

