Storm Assessment

I came through Hurricane Irma in a way that makes me feel as though I was very much protected. As I think about the decision I made to stay in my home being based on the spaghetti models that showed that the storm was going to track up the east, rather than the west coast, I realize that the decision could have been unwise. However, the storm entered the Naples area and tracked northward, fortunately losing impetus as it spun overland. When I went to bed, the wind was strong but not fierce. During the night, I awoke several times but never felt in imminent danger. When I arose at 5:00, I glanced at my digital clock, the first indicator that I had not lost power. The damage to my yard was limited to broken tree limbs, none of which had fallen on anything essential to my safety. I was alive, and I had been protected. The next day, I began removing some of the limbs but tired out quickly so stopped. In the evening, my doorbell rang, and I greeted a young 20-year-old who asked if he could clear my front yard for $20.00. I informed him that I wanted the entire yard cleared and offered him $60.00, which he agreed to. He, his younger brother and younger sister, began what was to become a three-hour plus task, working even past dusk. I watched as they laboriously cut and piled limbs and debris. When they finished, I handed them an envelope with “thank you” written on the front. I had added $40.00 more to the sum, thankful for the assistance I had received from these strangers.

Reader, if you are not a follower of my blog, I hope you will become one. Go to http://www.bobosbest.wordpress.com and on the bottom of the right hand corner you will see the opportunity to sign up so that you receive this blog every time it is published. Click on the word FOLLOW and enter your e-mail address. Thank you.

About bobosbest

I am a 79-year-old retired English teacher whose writing goals are fulfilled by publishing these blogs. I have a wonderful married partner, Dimitris Tsitsiras, who is from Greece. Life is good and still an adventure.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Storm Assessment

  1. Ken says:

    I am eternally thankful that you weathered the storm and that Dimitris will soon return to be with you again.

Leave a Reply

