Facebook, To the Defense

I have never been a big fan of Facebook. I have tended to use Facebook, like my cell phone, as little as possible. I signed up primarily so that I could use the site to promote my blog. I did not warm up well to the concept of “liking” and “un-liking.” It sounded so “middle school” to me. I have pouted about friends who seemed to have sold their soul to Facebook. However, during Irma’s rampage, I saw the positive side of having a site where you could check on friends, reassure them that you were okay, send out a call for help if needed. I used Facebook Messenger in order to stay in touch with my good friends who are in the mountains of North Carolina. Because they have a home here, they were eager to know just how Irma was affecting our city. I was able to reassure them that, although we were going to have a storm, it would not be the same strong storm that started in southwest Florida, and it wasn’t. Although I’m sure I will return to being only an occasional visitor to the site, I will not forget what an asset it was while we thought a bullet was aimed our way. Thankfully, we avoided serious damage and were able to relay that information as quickly to as many as possible utilizing Facebook.

 

About bobosbest

I am a 79-year-old retired English teacher whose writing goals are fulfilled by publishing these blogs. I have a wonderful married partner, Dimitris Tsitsiras, who is from Greece. Life is good and still an adventure.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Facebook, To the Defense

  1. Patricia Huffstetler says:

    So enjoy your Blog and being able to keep up with your news. Keep it up. I use Facebook to keep tabs on friends. For staying in touch with children, I use the iPhone. My granddaughter’s beau gave her the iPhone 7 when he put her on his plan. She gave me her 6 and pays for it for me. Love my Smart. Just hate that an inanimate object is smarter than I.

Leave a Reply

