Hunkering Down

As I write this blog, we are one day away from Hurricane Irma. I have been praying for an eastward shift, but it appears to be shifting west, which is the worst news for us on the west coast of Florida. It appears that I will be alone in my house as Dimitris is in Greece, and my neighbors across the street just decided to evacuate. People are warned not to do get on the road now as it would be horrible to be stuck on the road during the storm. I have cleaned my yard of objects that could become projectiles. I have filled several jugs with water. I think I’m going to make a meatloaf so that I will have some meat to eat during the downtime. I am going to get my cane out of the car in case I must do some walking. This is a first in my life–being in the bull’s-eye of a seriously dangerous hurricane. Hopefully, by the time I post this blog in the morning, there will have been a decrease in the size and energy of the storm and a shift to the east which could aim it out to sea.

About bobosbest

I am a 79-year-old retired English teacher whose writing goals are fulfilled by publishing these blogs. I have a wonderful married partner, Dimitris Tsitsiras, who is from Greece. Life is good and still an adventure.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Hunkering Down

  1. germelman says:

    Louie and I have our miniature chicks in the kitchen, Laying hens and ducks in the shed. Thirteen year old dog, Sebo and cats Riley and Mausr are under our feet.We are going thru food quickly! Munch, munch,munch! We expect arrival 9 PM to tomorrow noon!Hang tight! Noah

    Sent from Yahoo Mail for iPad

  2. Ken says:

    Praying for your safety.

  3. Stefano says:

    I hope everything is allright overthere Thom

Leave a Reply

