The Opiod Crisis

I’m writing about something I know almost nothing about. However, it has to be important that I educate myself and my readers as our president just agreed to treat this addiction as a national crisis. I have read that this crisis concerns the abuse of pain killers such as OxyContin®, Percocet®, Vicodin®, Percodan®, Tylox® and Demerol® among others, such as morphine, methadone, Buprenorphine, hydrocodone, and oxycodone. I know that I have had some of these drugs prescribed to me when I was recovering from my back and knee surgeries. I am fortunate, in some ways, as I have been diagnosed as having a high pain tolerance. Of course, such a diagnosis can also be dangerous. I have also learned that the illegal drug heroin is also an opiod as well as fentanyl that must be purchased from China. My question is why have I not heard of any of my friends having been treated for opiod addiction. If the disease is so widespread, why haven’t I had to support a friend’s healing from such an addiction? As you can see, I had to do some research for this blog.

About bobosbest

I am a 79-year-old retired English teacher whose writing goals are fulfilled by publishing these blogs. I have a wonderful married partner, Dimitris Tsitsiras, who is from Greece. Life is good and still an adventure.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Opiod Crisis

  1. Anonymous says:

    i live in 3 places and i dont know anybody with this addiction either,,,strange isnt it? Eido

Leave a Reply

