Slept Right Through It

I am an amateur weather watcher along with a buddy of mine who lives in Seminole. We call each other when storms are eminent or even when rainfall is occurring. We then compare total rainfall amounts and fuss when one gets more rain than the other. I keep a running total of the rain at my house, basing it on my Oregon rainfall gauge. The gauge can’t be totally accurate as it measures as no rainfall anything below .04. Nevertheless, when there is heavy rain, it seems to be very accurate. One thing I have to keep in mind is that the rainfall amount clears at midnight. One morning this week, when I got up, I was surprised that the sprinklers weren’t on as they come on automatically twice a week unless we have at least .15. I glanced at the gauge and was surprised to see that we had had .08 since midnight. I couldn’t figure out though why the sprinklers had turned themselves off. Re-checking the gauge, I was amazed to see that we had indeed had .08 rainfall but the total amount had been 1.08. I had slept right through it.

Reader, if you are not a follower of my blog, I hope you will become one. Go to http://www.bobosbest.wordpress.com and on the bottom of the right hand corner you will see the opportunity to sign up so that you receive this blog every time it is published. Click on the word FOLLOW and enter your e-mail address. Thank you.

About bobosbest

I am a 79-year-old retired English teacher whose writing goals are fulfilled by publishing these blogs. I have a wonderful married partner, Dimitris Tsitsiras, who is from Greece. Life is good and still an adventure.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Slept Right Through It

  1. Anonymous says:

    the storm cannot be eminent Thom cause it is not famous or respected, but it can be imminent when it is about to arrive…lol…a big hug from Eido

Leave a Reply

