A Royal Poinsiana

When I moved to St. Petersburg, I marveled at the tropical plants that abounded here. I remember seeing an advertisement for a Canary Island date palm for 28 cents. I asked around to find out where the store was located as I certainly wanted to purchase one at that price (by the way, this was in 1966). When I got to the store, I saw no Canary Island date palms so inquired regarding the ad. The sales person took me to a nursery area and pointed out the palm tree that was on sale. It was a tiny little thing planted in a small tin can. That was not at all what I had expected so asked about the growth rate. I was told that in twenty years, I would have a beautiful Canary Island palm tree. This morning, as I got into my car, I spotted some color on a tree that has come up in my back yard. When I examined it closely, I discovered that it is a Royal Poinsiana, one of the most beautiful trees I’ve seen in this area. Years ago, St. Petersburg had some freezing temperatures that wiped out many of these beautiful Poinsianas. I feel lucky to have one growing in my yard and, like the Canary palm, I will look forward to its being tree-size in about twenty years.

(Click to enlarge)

About bobosbest

I am a 79-year-old retired English teacher whose writing goals are fulfilled by publishing these blogs. I have a wonderful married partner, Dimitris Tsitsiras, who is from Greece. Life is good and still an adventure.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

