The Name of My Order

Dimitris and I have a favorite restaurant–Taco Bell. He gets two shredded chicken burritos while I always order a spicy tostado . I also order two senior drinks, a side benefit for him. When I recently offered Dimitris a free lunch out (wherever he wanted to go), he chose Taco Bell. There is a new feature these days at Taco Bell–a soda that allegedly has cactus juice as an ingredient. It provides quite a nice jolt when it is drunk similar to Fanta and Wink. A young black man, who has waited on me a “million times, is usually behind the counter of our local Taco Bell . During our visit recently, when he asked for my name, I gave the name Cooper. He immediately affirmed that he could remember that name. Sure enough, the next time we visited the restaurant and ordered, the kid said, “Your order name is Cooper.” I was impressed, impressed enough to glance at his name tag and to learn that his name is Shea. Since then, I have not had to give my name to the order and have thanked Shea for remembering. I had the same kind of relationship with a Kentucky Fried Chicken staffer when I used to stop by that restaurant every Sunday after church and order five hot chicken wings. The waiter there would have my order ready before I could get out of the car and into the restaurant.

About bobosbest

I am a 79-year-old retired English teacher whose writing goals are fulfilled by publishing these blogs. I have a wonderful married partner, Dimitris Tsitsiras, who is from Greece. Life is good and still an adventure.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

