My First Love

When I finally admitted to myself that I was a gay man, I sought to be delivered from that “curse” by attending a program called “Straight Ahead” at a church annex building in Tampa.” I was by then divorced but looking for ways to reconcile with my wife and get rid of the gay thoughts that had made our marriage a mockery. Most of my gayness had been in my head so I had no sexual contacts and no gay friends. Shortly after I started going to these reparative sessions, I met a younger guy named Scott. He was handsome, showed some signs of enjoying being around me, and did not have a regular boyfriend. The rules of the meetings were that attendees did not have sex with each other, and I vowed to adhere to that rule, which I did. What I came to realize was that I was in love with Scott. Over time, that “puppy” love became less strong especially when Scott began to show favor toward guys more his age. The friendship though, which began  then, has lasted many years. I’m thinking of Scott these days as he and his partner, David, are dealing with Scott’s cancer. The prognosis, according to David’s reports on Facebook, is that there are positives and continuing challenges. Join me in prayer for this wonderful friend, my first love.

About bobosbest

I am a 79-year-old retired English teacher whose writing goals are fulfilled by publishing these blogs. I have a wonderful married partner, Dimitris Tsitsiras, who is from Greece. Life is good and still an adventure.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to My First Love

  1. Anonymous says:

    So, what happened in your quest for straightness?

  2. Thom Cooper says:

    I failed, thank heavens, and am a happy gay man with a wonderful partner.

  3. Anonymous says:

    Tom I never new this. I was just so happy to have good friends to go thru this gay stuff with. Good time in my life.😄
    I’m sitting in my treatment chair as I type. GOD HAS BEEN BLESSING ME BEYOND MY UNDERSTANDING. I see the things I’ve never seen befor thru Gods eye. And all I can see is Love.

    Love Scott

Leave a Reply

