My Five-Day Respite

How many of you have had a summer “respite?” Well, I kn0w–what I’m calling a respite is usually called a vacation. This past week was both vacation and relaxation away from home. We departed on Tuesday via an Air Canada plane and arrived at the Pearson International Airport just three hours later. We had pre-paid for two days of sightseeing in Toronto plus a trip to Niagara Falls on Friday, the last day of our stay in the area. The city tour proved to be most enjoyable although we stayed on more than we hopped off. By the end of the first day, we knew what we wanted to hop off and see more thoroughly the second day such as the CN tower, the Rogers Center where the Blue Jays play baseball, the old and new town halls. We saw the Amsterdam bridge on which the kissing scene in “My Big Fat Greek Wedding” was filmed. We also took a boat tour of the Toronto islands which are presently flooded and closed for any traffic other than by those who live there. Niagara Falls was, of course, the greatest and most memorable scenic element of the entire trip. The weather was perfect with clear skies and a wonderful breeze. I am definitely a homebody, but occasionally it surely is good to get out and go away for a few days. My partner and my cane/seat allowed me to handle the walking and having a place to sit when I could not walk any farther.

(Click to enlarge)

About bobosbest

I am a 79-year-old retired English teacher whose writing goals are fulfilled by publishing these blogs. I have a wonderful married partner, Dimitris Tsitsiras, who is from Greece. Life is good and still an adventure.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My Five-Day Respite

  1. Anonymous says:

    so happy you enjoyed it.. hugs E.

  2. Ken says:

    Glad you enjoyed it. Toronto is a wonderful clean city and the people so hospitable.

Leave a Reply

