My Neighbor and I Meet

I love my home. I had my home built nearly 30 years ago. There were two major appeals to this property: (1) there were two magnolia trees in the front yard, and  (2) I had an alleyway entrance in the back which would allow me not to park my car on the street. Because of the rear access, I opted to have a car port in the rear instead of a garage in front. When I moved in, there was very little foliage in the rear of the house. However, over the years, bushes and even trees have grown up around the car port exit. Because I back the car out, I back out slowly as the alleyway, though certainly not a major thoroughfare, is utilized by others than myself. Pulling out one morning recently, I slowly entered the alleyway and was pleased to look in the rearview mirror to confirm that there was no traffic coming from the rear. I then began to pull forward toward the exit of the dirt alleyway. Fortunately, I was moving slowly as my neighbor to the west backed out of his car port just ahead of me. Of course, I slammed on brakes and blew my horn as he evidently did not see me and was continuing to back out. Thanks to the quick response of both of us, we did not collide and each exited and headed on to our destinations, a little unnerved, of which you can be certain.

About bobosbest

I am a 79-year-old retired English teacher whose writing goals are fulfilled by publishing these blogs. I have a wonderful married partner, Dimitris Tsitsiras, who is from Greece. Life is good and still an adventure.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

