An Accident in the Dark

When I reached in the dark for my glasses that are always on the shelf next to my bed, I backhanded something across the room. The sound when it hit the floor was ominous. When I turned on the light, I saw my Oregon rain gauge lying on the floor with one battery lying beside it. The other battery was still intact. What this meant was that the yearly rainfall amount had been erased. It also meant that the instrument would have to be recalibrated. As a faux meteorologist, I depend greatly on this wonderful instrument. Not only does it record rainfall, but it shows me the outside temperature. I knew right away that I had to depend on my partner to do the recalibration. He has been the chief operator of this instrument. I did not want, however, to push him to take on this task immediately as I know how difficult it is, so difficult that I won’t even try. To my surprise, Dimitris brought the gauge to me in the early afternoon, showing me that it was at least partially restored. When I pressed the search button, I knew it was searching for the base outside in the backyard. By evening, not only was the gauge looking ready for this week’s increase in rain possibility, but blinking healthily, which is the ultimate indicator of the health of the instrument. Come on, rainfall. We’re ready for you.

Reader, if you are not a follower of my blog, I hope you will become one. Go to http://www.bobosbest.wordpress.com and on the bottom of the right hand corner you will see the opportunity to sign up so that you receive this blog every time it is published. Click on the word FOLLOW and enter your e-mail address. Thank you.
About bobosbest

I am a 79-year-old retired English teacher whose writing goals are fulfilled by publishing these blogs. I have a wonderful married partner, Dimitris Tsitsiras, who is from Greece. Life is good and still an adventure.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

