Non-Partisan Partisans

Years ago, when I was serving my four-year commitment in the United States Navy, I was stationed in Pensacola, FL at the Naval Air Station. I was a yeoman 3rd class enlisted man; Paul was a naval cadet. Paul and his family met me and my family through our membership in a Baptist Church. Alice, Paul’s wife, and my wife, Helen, were both pregnant at the same time. Of course that was one of the main reasons our families bonded. After leaving the Navy, I lost touch with Paul and Alice until a friend put us back in communications. Alice had died, and Paul had remarried; I had divorced and remarried. When Paul and I renewed our friendship via the internet, we learned that our political beliefs were in opposite poles. He was Republican; I was a Democrat. Recently, Paul wrote me, confessing that he had been berated by friends who learned that he had voted for Donald Trump. He sent me a four-page statement of his political beliefs. I read the statement and responded to each item, uncritically. I just received an e-mail affirming his excitement that we could still communicate and disagree without becoming disagreeable.

About bobosbest

I am a 79-year-old retired English teacher whose writing goals are fulfilled by publishing these blogs. I have a wonderful married partner, Dimitris Tsitsiras, who is from Greece. Life is good and still an adventure.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

