Hitchhiker

When I learned that my granddaughter in Naples, FL, was going to be performing in a play, I decided to drive down to support her and her school. On the morning of the play, I gassed up, made sure I had my sunglasses, and headed down the road, planning to arrive between 3:00 and 3:30. As I entered I-275 in St. Petersburg, I noticed that there was a tiny yellow leaf that had become stuck in the crease between my Lexus and the hood of the car. It was fascinating to watch this leaf as it struggled to hang on, especially when I reached the open road and sped along at 70 mph. In my mind, I fantasized about that tiny leaf’s having always wanted to go to Naples but having been stuck in St. Pete. When I arrived in Naples, the leaf was still stubbornly clinging. It had been successful in making this trip. When I got ready to leave the next morning, I found the leaf still there so I pulled it free and watched as it sank to the ground. I had helped it achieve its goal, and I hope it is still enjoying the Naples area.

About bobosbest

I am a 79-year-old retired English teacher whose writing goals are fulfilled by publishing these blogs. I have a wonderful married partner, Dimitris Tsitsiras, who is from Greece. Life is good and still an adventure.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Hitchhiker

  1. Anonymous says:

    Loved ur hitchicking leaf story.. very Thom’s one! Hugs Eido

  2. Anonymous says:

    Maybe the leaf wanted to come back home! Dimitris

Leave a Reply

