The Irony of the Returning Piano

When I was in the third grade, I asked my parents if I might take piano lessons. They were pleased with my request but let me know that my lessons would require that they invest in a piano on which I could practice. They emphasized the importance of my making a commitment if they were to purchase a piano for me. Their search for an affordable piano ended when they found an elderly lady who said that her daughter was urging her to sell their piano. So, the upright piano came into my home where I did keep my musical commitment until I left for college. During this time, my mother had passed away and my dad had remarried and brought my stepmother into our home. Yes, Reader, my dad’s new wife was the same daughter who had urged her mother to get rid of the piano years before. The piano had returned to plague her. Since I was away in college and now using pianos in the practice rooms, I offered no resistance when my stepmother asked if I would mind her selling the piano. Now years later, when I think back nostalgically about that big black upright, I become even more grateful for the six-foot Kawai grand that now sits in my living room.

About bobosbest

I am a 79-year-old retired English teacher whose writing goals are fulfilled by publishing these blogs. I have a wonderful married partner, Dimitris Tsitsiras, who is from Greece. Life is good and still an adventure.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

