How Green is my Yard

I live in a typical middle-class neighborhood. My home, which was built in 1987, is one of the newer homes in the neighborhood because there once was another house on my lot. When I had this house built, I had a beautifully sodded lawn, the envy of the neighborhood. However, I found that it was too expensive to dig a deepwater well plus, at the beginning, I had no sprinkler system. So now, I do not have one of the greener lawns in the neighborhood although, in the fall, I planted winter rye which did fairly well. However, I realized that the rye grass would disappear with the advent of spring so I spread shade tolerant grass seeds several weeks ago, hoping for a bumper crop. Now, I can’t tell what is new growth and what is the old rye grass. I do know though that I need to give it another round of seeds as the grass does not completely cover the lawn. My neighbor, across the street, who has an impeccable lawn, will be the determiner of whether or not my lawn is up to par. If it isn’t, trust me, he will let me know. Thanks, Ted.

About bobosbest

I am a 79-year-old retired English teacher whose writing goals are fulfilled by publishing these blogs. I have a wonderful married partner, Dimitris Tsitsiras, who is from Greece. Life is good and still an adventure.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

