Easter Guilt

Many churches have multiple services during the week before Easter, traditionally known as Holy Week. I grew up in a Southern Baptist church that observed a regular service only on Easter Sunday morning. It was always a well-attended service. The name given to those attendees was the “lily and holly” crowd, covering both Easter and Christmas. The church that Dimitris and I now attend has Maundy Thursday, Good Friday, and Easter Sunday services during Holy Week. I did not attend the Thursday service, but I attended both the Good Friday service and will attend the Sunday morning service. I attend because I want to exercise my right to practice my religious beliefs as I choose. I do not attend because I have been told that I should feel guilty for not attending. I have heard clergy issue that warning. I do not believe that Jesus Christ punishes us for failing to attend a worship service. In fact, I do not believe that any worship is any more important than another service. Every observance of worship is “holy,” in my opinion. Today is Easter Sunday, and I hope you worship at a church of your choice or worship in the quiet of your home, hopefully with family.

Reader, if you are not a follower of my blog, I hope you will become one. Go to http://www.bobosbest.wordpress.com and on the bottom of the right hand corner you will see the opportunity to sign up so that you receive this blog every time it is published. Click on the word Follow and enter your e-mail address. Thank you.

About bobosbest

I am a 79-year-old retired English teacher whose writing goals are fulfilled by publishing these blogs. I have a wonderful married partner, Dimitris Tsitsiras, who is from Greece. Life is good and still an adventure.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

