Telephonic Addictionitis

I am not a happy telephone talker. My telephone, both the house phone and the cell phone, are utilities only. The phone in the house has a caller ID. If I don’t recognize the caller, even if the number is the local area code, I don’t answer it. I have an answer machine which allows for a recorded message that I can play on my computer. When I do answer the phone, you will notice that I begin to get antsy if the phone call lasts more than ten minutes. You will then hear me say, ” Well, good to hear from you. Thanks for calling.” I’m ready to get off the phone and back into whatever life has me doing. I am far from “wed” to my cell phone, using it almost totally in case of an emergency when I’m in the car. Dimitris does not have a cell phone other than mine. If he uses the car and I stay home, he knows the cell phone is in the car, and he can call me at the home phone. I realize that one of these days we are going to be forced to become smart phone owners because so many things now depend on such phones. However, up to now we are only minimal cell phone users and are surviving quite well without cell phone “addictionitis.”

About bobosbest

I am a 79-year-old retired English teacher whose writing goals are fulfilled by publishing these blogs. I have a wonderful married partner, Dimitris Tsitsiras, who is from Greece. Life is good and still an adventure.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Telephonic Addictionitis

  1. Dimitris says:

    That’s a true story!!!

Leave a Reply

