A Unique Friendship

On March 25, 2009, I lost a very good friend–Bea Lewis. Bea became a housekeeper and a friend in my home. She was one of a kind. I remember that she used to bring me a breakfast sandwich every time she came into my home to clean and iron. I had to ask her to stop, knowing she was spending her own money and getting me fatter. I could never outgive Bea for she gave the “widow’s mite” every single time. Our trips to a Chinese buffet were celebratory events. We would eat powerfully and then come back to the house to catch up on each other’s lives, sitting in the living room solving the problems of the world. I think Bea was one of the kindest ladies I have ever known. I never gave her anything but that I received a phone call, leaving a message if I was not at home, thanking me and saying, “You don’t have to call me back.” I miss Bea Lewis very much. I will never forget this gracious lady who not only kept my house and clothes perfectly clean but provided me with a marvelous friendship.

About bobosbest

I am a 79-year-old retired English teacher whose writing goals are fulfilled by publishing these blogs. I have a wonderful married partner, Dimitris Tsitsiras, who is from Greece. Life is good and still an adventure.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

