Bon Appetit

When I was growing up, my mother did all of the cooking. My daddy would make hamburgers every once in a while or some fat back gravy, but the majority of the cooking was left to mother. I had one brother and no sister, and neither my brother nor I had a hankering to learn how to cook. When I got married, I married a wife whose mother was Italian and a wonderful cook. Helen probably would have learned to enjoy cooking more had her mother not been such a good cook and so domineering in the kitchen. When Dimitris and I met, I asked him, “Do you cook?” When he said no, I knew we were in trouble. Both of us have learned to cook a few items. He’s the tilapia and crock pot chicken soup king while I can prepare a meatloaf and make a spaghetti meal that is passable. Recently, I added a new item to my culinary preparations: stuffed mushrooms. It was my daughter Robin who served me stuffed mushroom that were out of this world good. It was she then who passed on the recipe to me. It’s simple: get some nice sized mushrooms and remove the center stem. Stuff in some cream cheese, bacon bits, chipped onions and add a little salt and pepper. Cook at 350 for thirty minutes, and they are out of this world good. I never thought that anything that came from the kitchen of Thom Cooper would be offered as tasty.

Happy St. Patrick’s Day!

 

About bobosbest

I am a 79-year-old retired English teacher whose writing goals are fulfilled by publishing these blogs. I have a wonderful married partner, Dimitris Tsitsiras, who is from Greece. Life is good and still an adventure.
Aside | This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

