Ken Medema

Years ago, my brother-in-law, who was a wonderful practicing Christian, insisted that I meet Ken Medema, a blind Christian singer/composer. Brian had been to a Medema concert and had gone up afterwards to greet and meet Ken Medema. Within a couple of months after Brian told me about this meeting, I saw that Mr. Medema was performing a concert at a church in Tampa so I made plans to attend. The concert was as exciting as any I had ever attended so I too had to meet Ken Medema afterwards. He received me warmly. At the time, I was a choir director at a local church. I suggested to Medema that I would love for him to come to my church and present a program. He gave me the information I needed to begin setting up just such a concert. After setting a date and getting collaboration from several other churches, I began an advertisement campaign. By the time of the concert, word had gotten out, and the concert was well-attended. Since then, Ken Medema has become a cherished friend. Although years have passed, my admiration for Ken has never dulled. Every time we sing “Lord, Listen to your Children Praying” in church, I think of him as it was he who wrote that wonderful chorus. Our new choir director has asked me to lend my name to help bring Ken Medema to my church, King of Peace MCC. I pray that that concert happens and that once again I hear the music and message of this wonderful Christian musician.

About bobosbest

I am a 79-year-old retired English teacher whose writing goals are fulfilled by publishing these blogs. I have a wonderful married partner, Dimitris Tsitsiras, who is from Greece. Life is good and still an adventure.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

