Spring Pruning

I am not the most avid pruner in the world although I realize that plants need to be pruned before they get new growth in the spring. This morning, when I returned from exercising at the Y, I noted that there were plants on the east side of my house that needed cutting back. I wish I knew the names of the flowering plants in there, but I don’t–except for the bougainvillea and the plumeria. There are also some orchids mixed in with the unknown flowers. That task I could do alone. The other big job was pruning the night blooming cereus which was climbing toward the roof on the south side of the house, the side facing the street. Since I thought it was going to require using the ladder, I asked Dimitris to take on that task. What we learned is that the cereus could be pulled down from the bottom and then clipped. I didn’t want to completely eradicate it as, when it is in its blooming season, it is one of the most awesome bloomers that we have in our yard. Tasks done, bring on the new growth.

About bobosbest

I am a 79-year-old retired English teacher whose writing goals are fulfilled by publishing these blogs. I have a wonderful married partner, Dimitris Tsitsiras, who is from Greece. Life is good and still an adventure.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

