Open-Minded

Although I am a news hound, I’m not a person who keeps the TV going all the time. In fact, when I’m on vacation, I’d just as soon stay at a Motel 6 without a TV set. However, when I am home, I spend my TV time primarily watching news, sports, and weather. I am a registered Democrat and support more liberal ideas than conservative. Therefore, I tend to get my news from MSNBC. However, I know that news from that source is going to be biased towards Democrats so I have determined that I must diversify if I am going to consider myself fair-minded. Therefore, on Sundays I tape and watch NBC’s “Meet The Press” with Chuck Todd. I also watch ABC’s “This Week” with Stephen Stephanopoulos. My third news channel is my channel for hearing the other side of the story: “Fox News Sunday” with Chris Wallace. By watching Fox, I feel that I can balance my liberal bent with a “pound” of conservative news. My brother and I agreed for a while to watch these three news programs and then discuss the content afterwards. We have recently ceased that practice but, while we were doing it, we had some very healthy agreements and disagreements. During this past election, he was not so much a Trump supporter as a Clinton doubter. He has admitted to me lately that he has his concerns about President Trump. I have reminded him that, since he voted for the man, he “owns” this administration.

About bobosbest

I am a 79-year-old retired English teacher whose writing goals are fulfilled by publishing these blogs. I have a wonderful married partner, Dimitris Tsitsiras, who is from Greece. Life is good and still an adventure.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

