Confessions of a Cereal Killer

If my mother didn’t make eggs and grits for breakfast when I was growing up, I had a bowl of Kellogg’s Corn Flakes. Even when I went into the Navy and had a buffet of breakfast choices, I frequently picked out a packet of Corn Flakes. As an adult, I continue to eat cereal, reserving the eggs, bacon/sausage, and grits (I now sometimes substitute hash browns for grits) for eating out at a restaurant. My two choices now are: Frosted Flakes or Honey Nut Cheerios. I use 2% milk and never tire of the taste and consistency. One important thing I have learned about cereal is that you don’t pay full price for a box of cereal. The price of cereals is acceptable only when combined with coupons and/or BOGOS (buy-one-get-one-free). I’m sure there are other healthier ways to start the day, but starting without a bowl of cereal when I’m at home is a tradition for me and an enjoyable one.

About bobosbest

I am a 79-year-old retired English teacher whose writing goals are fulfilled by publishing these blogs. I have a wonderful married partner, Dimitris Tsitsiras, who is from Greece. Life is good and still an adventure.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

