A Sound Enthusiast

I have always been a sound enthusiast. I was in college when I heard a phonograph record played in hi-fi. I was excited. I had gone into a furniture store, had asked for a demonstration of hi-fi, and was entranced. I heard percussive sounds that I had never heard before except in a live concert. Then stereophonic sound was introduced. I couldn’t imagine how stereo could be possible, but bring it on. In order to hear stereophonic sound, I learned that there were FM stations and AM stations cooperating to broadcast one track on FM and one track on AM so that anyone who had an AM and FM radio could then produce stereophonic sound in their home or office. It is many years later, and I own a beautiful sound system that is installed in my living room. It provides me with 5.1 stereophonic sound. It also plays dts sound, which is a high-tech sound that can be heard only on audio systems set up to “translate” this kind of quality sound. At present, mostly only blu-ray discs feature dts sound. I hope my ability to hear the tiniest bells and percussive sounds lasts for many years as I progress as a senior citizen.

About bobosbest

I am a 79-year-old retired English teacher whose writing goals are fulfilled by publishing these blogs. I have a wonderful married partner, Dimitris Tsitsiras, who is from Greece. Life is good and still an adventure.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

