My Tomato Crop

During the recent “cold-down” here in west central Florida, I feared only for my one tomato plant which is loaded with Better Boy tomatoes. My custom is to check it every day, spray for insects, and feed it regularly. When the weather people began to forecast lows in the upper 30’s, I became concerned about my plant. The first morning after a low of 37.1 degrees, the plant took a turn for the worse–drooping and sagging. I hastily fed it water and watched it only slowly regain some strength. That night I checked it before I went to bed, and it appeared to be at death’s door. When friends suggested I cover it, I resisted as it is too tall to cover and covering incorrectly can be a death knell. The next morning when I checked on Thom’s tomato, it looked as though it had had a shot of adrenalin. It looked perky. It looked as though it would survive. Now I can understand how farmers must feel when they realize that they have come through a weather-danger period and their crops have survived. It sounds a bit trivial, but I’m excited that my crop (singular) survived.

About bobosbest

I am a 79-year-old retired English teacher whose writing goals are fulfilled by publishing these blogs. I have a wonderful married partner, Dimitris Tsitsiras, who is from Greece. Life is good and still an adventure.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

