A Twist (repeat)

I most enjoy movies and books that take me in a direction that makes me believe that there is an impossibility of a satisfactory denouement. I am not good at out-guessing authors and movie producers but am rewarded when the ending is both satisfying and rational. I most dislike movies and books that have cop-out endings–such as identity changes like the one I just read about in a Dean Koontz book entitled The Key to Midnight. One of the movies I’ve watched recently was “Abel’s Field,” a Christian-themed movie that portrays a seventeen-year-old young man who has the total responsibility for his family, including twin girls. After watching him deal with his awesome challenges, I was very pleased with the satisfactory resolution of that movie. One of my favorite movies, “Dear Frankie,” is a movie about child abuse and a family in Scotland. In the middle of that movie, I was distressed, knowing for sure that there was no way the problems that had been presented could be resolved to my satisfaction…but they were. I must write too that I enjoy stories that take me in a direction that completely fools me when the denouement arrives. The best example I can think of for that genre is the short story, “A Perfect Day for Bananafish” by J. D. Salinger. I guess you can tell that I love good literature and well-done movies.

About bobosbest

I am a 79-year-old retired English teacher whose writing goals are fulfilled by publishing these blogs. I have a wonderful married partner, Dimitris Tsitsiras, who is from Greece. Life is good and still an adventure.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

