Hopscotch with the Sprinklers

When I moved into my home, the lawn was sodded and, I was told, it would need to be watered. Since I moved in on October 31, at least it wasn’t during the heat of summer. However, when I checked on having a well drilled, I was told that, because of the high elevation of my home on Disston Ridge, the cost of drilling would be prohibitive. So, I installed a sprinkler system but accepted the fact that I would be sprinkling my yard with “city water.” Since the water rates were high, I realized that I would have to play some games regarding when I allowed the sprinklers to come on and when they should be turned off. I bought a gadget that would automatically shut down the sprinklers if the day before we had at least .15 rainfall. The automatic turn-off worked nicely when I was away. However, when I was at home, I manually turned on and off the sprinklers so that my water bill did not become exorbitant. I came to realize that anticipating the accuracy of rain predictions was dubious at best and the lawn sprinkling would be a challenge, as it definitely is.

About bobosbest

I am a 79-year-old retired English teacher whose writing goals are fulfilled by publishing these blogs. I have a wonderful married partner, Dimitris Tsitsiras, who is from Greece. Life is good and still an adventure.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

