The Last Christmas Cookies

This Christmas could have been a very lonely one with Dimitris visiting his family in Greece. However, I was not alone very much, thank goodness. I was visited by Tom Walker, who is the last of the drop-ins. I had breakfast one morning with Kathy Fink, my lady friend who has given me wonderful advice so many times over the years. I had dinner out with Steve Woodbury followed by dinner at his house on Christmas Day. I was visited and gifted by Eido Digati, my Italian friend who spends six months in Florida and six months in Italy every year. I attended a neighborhood party that wasn’t even my neighborhood at the invitation of two Gulfport friends. I was invited to Orlando to have Christmas Eve dinner with my twice cruising roommate, Jack Sullivan. I also had the privilege of spending time with my friend Kevin Crisler from Sarasota who accepted my invitation to come up and spend a day together. My neighbor across the street, Ted Ciske, fed me several times–shrimp salad and ziti. And finally, there was a knock on the door last night and there stood another neighbor, Gaetan Gravel, who brought me the last Christmas cookies which I will enjoy post-Christmas.¬†Christmas 2016 will be a time to remember when I was loved, cared for, and nourished by friends and by friends who are also neighbors. My biggest thanks has to be to Dimitris, the love of my life who communicated via Viber, Skype, and e-mails every single day and will soon be back home with me.

About bobosbest

I am a 79-year-old retired English teacher whose writing goals are fulfilled by publishing these blogs. I have a wonderful married partner, Dimitris Tsitsiras, who is from Greece. Life is good and still an adventure.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Last Christmas Cookies

  1. Dimitris says:

    You are so sweet.

Leave a Reply

