Writing Creatively

Back in the 60s when I was still teaching in a junior high school, I worked with my students, encouraging them to learn all types of writing skills. I taught them the difference between formal and casual English, proper and improper language. I taught them to create a resume in order to encourage them to be able to apply for a job at some time. In short, I taught them to use the English language in other ways than just communicating every day. I lectured them, telling them that it was perfectly all right to make mistakes. We learn from our mistakes. When I taught a unit on descriptive writing, I explained that writers draw their readers in with clear and descriptive words and phrases. When I was reading the descriptive writing efforts of my students, I got a wonderful chuckle from the following: “As the clear blue swirling water pounded against the rouged rocks, you can hear the sweet-smelling pine tree blowing in the breeze. The tall green grass was swaying in the wind which brought a pleasant smell to the face.” I must admit that the student had definitely gotten the essence, if not the accuracy, of descriptive writing.

About bobosbest

I am a 79-year-old retired English teacher whose writing goals are fulfilled by publishing these blogs. I have a wonderful married partner, Dimitris Tsitsiras, who is from Greece. Life is good and still an adventure.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

