The “Ghost” House

When I had my house built in 1989, it was built on a vacant lot in an otherwise filled-up area of St Petersburg. When I told people of the location where I was having my home built, they usually commented that they didn’t realize there were any more available lots in this area. Well, there would not have been had the house which had been on my lot had not burned and the remains removed. As my house was being built, I drove by frequently not only to check on the progress but to meet my neighbors-to-be. I found out that an older lady lived on the west side, a young couple lived across the street, and no one lived next door on the east side. The house was uninhabited. I have now lived in my home twenty-six years, and no one has lived in the “ghost house” all of that time. I have learned that the couple who own it now live in Monroe, CT, but I have seen them only a couple of times when they came down to do some repairs. Recently, I lost my yardman who was also their yardman. He was paid by check in the mail. When I tried to contact the owners to ask if they wanted my new yardman to do their yard, I came up with a blank–no response to my phone call and no response to a personal letter. What will become of a neglected house in a neighborhood of nice homes?

About bobosbest

I am a 79-year-old retired English teacher whose writing goals are fulfilled by publishing these blogs. I have a wonderful married partner, Dimitris Tsitsiras, who is from Greece. Life is good and still an adventure.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

