Memes

I must confess that I’m writing about something about which I know almost nothing. Occasionally a word creeps into the lexicon and you hear it repeated over and over until you either figure out what it means, you go to a dictionary (are there still dictionaries out there?), or you ask a friend that you think will know. Well, I chose the third option first and asked a friend what in the world the word “meme” means. I hear it used in news broadcasts and in other means involving oral communication, but the word in context does not indicate to me what it means. My friend explained it, and I immediately forgot his explanation as it did little to clarify “meming.” Next, I went to dictionary.com, the modern way of getting definitions, and I found this definition: a cultural item in the form of an image, video, phrase, etc., that is spread via the Internet and often altered in a creative or humorous way. Nice definition, but I still have no good explanation that I can understand. I certainly can’t use “meme” in a sentence and know that I am speaking intelligently. Can someone help me? I am perplexed and want to be “cool” and to use the word “meme” intelligently.

About bobosbest

I am a 79-year-old retired English teacher whose writing goals are fulfilled by publishing these blogs. I have a wonderful married partner, Dimitris Tsitsiras, who is from Greece. Life is good and still an adventure.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Memes

  1. EIDO says:

    U CANT USE THE WORD MEME UNLESS YOU SPECUFICALLY SEND OR RECEIVE ONE…LOL… THIS IS THE NEW SCARY WORLD THAT ELECTED THE DONALD! EIDO

Leave a Reply

