Word Magic

When I was teaching, whether it was at the junior high level, high school level, or college level, I always stressed vocabulary. Some might think that my methods were somewhat unorthodox as I did not require my students to learn the meaning of the vocabulary words. I just wanted them to be able to use the word in a complete sentence so that it made sense in context. In high school, I let students earn extra credit if they found one of our vocabulary words while they were reading a novel, a weekly magazine, or even a comic book. They had to bring the item to me to show me the vocabulary word in use. In the junior high classes, it was misspellings that sometimes entertained me and made reading papers more fun. When I asked my junior high students to write a sentence using the word, “cloister,” I had a student submit this sentence: “The nuns were preying in the cloister.” When asked to write a sentence using the proper spelling of the principal of a school, I got: “The voice of the principal came over the inner calm.”

About bobosbest

I am a 79-year-old retired English teacher whose writing goals are fulfilled by publishing these blogs. I have a wonderful married partner, Dimitris Tsitsiras, who is from Greece. Life is good and still an adventure.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Word Magic

  1. EIDO says:

    CAN YOU IMAGINE NUNS PREYING IN THE CLOISTERS?/ WHO WHO WHO WHAT A TYPO CAN DO?? LOL….EIDO

Leave a Reply

