Cuba to the Rescue

On December 5th, we left from our house at 3:15 to insure Dimitris’ timely arrival at Tampa International Airport for his 5:50 flight to Athens via Frankfurt. We had planned ahead and had plenty of time to get there and go through security. During the drive to the airport, we experienced only a short slow-down just after exiting the Howard Franklin bridge. Parking was no problem either as I found handicapped parking directly in front of the 7th floor Yeager elevator. Dimitris had pre-checked in so had only to deposit his luggage. I left him at the security entrance, hugged him big time, and headed for the car. My car is a 2004 Lexus and has never given me any problems. However, it would not start and sounded as though it was flooded. The obvious solution was to call AAA, which I did. Because the “1” button on the cell phone failed to register, I ended up talking with someone trying to sign me up with AAA rather than give me “roadside assistance”. Once I had been switched to the correct department, I was told a tow truck would be there within the hour. When the truck arrived two hours later, I was on the phone with AAA, complaining about the delay. I thought surely the airport would be kind to me but, no, they charged me $14.00 for nearly three hours parking. So much for a quick trip to the airport but, thanks to AAA Plus, which allows for 100 miles of towing, I was home safely by 8:00 and grateful for the assistance of Alehandro, my Cuban-American tow truck driver.

web-logo

About bobosbest

I am a 79-year-old retired English teacher whose writing goals are fulfilled by publishing these blogs. I have a wonderful married partner, Dimitris Tsitsiras, who is from Greece. Life is good and still an adventure.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

