A Warm Blanket

I grew up in the Piedmont region of South Carolina. Piedmont means “the foothills.” Our small town was at the foot of the mountains rather than in the mountains, and the climate was summer : hot and winter : chilly. I was much more capable of handling the summer : hot than the winter : chilly. So long as I could find a breeze or a fan, I could accept the heat. However, to remedy the cold, I had to find water heat or a nice, heavy blanket. I can remember coming home in the dark from a movie or some nighttime activity and rushing into the house as soon as the door was opened, seeking the heater, if it were on, or the bed if it was close to bedtime. Doubled up under the bedclothes, freezing until the bed warmed up a bit offered the promise of eventual satisfaction. I am still a non-lover of cold weather. Fortunately, I ended up in Florida where the chill is not so severe most of the year. I am older now, a long way from my childhood. All I want for Christmas is a nice heavy blanket to throw over me when I decide to lie down when the house feels just a bit chilly. I don’t want anything too fancy, just a normal blanket, big enough to cover me until I warm up.

About bobosbest

I am a 79-year-old retired English teacher whose writing goals are fulfilled by publishing these blogs. I have a wonderful married partner, Dimitris Tsitsiras, who is from Greece. Life is good and still an adventure.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A Warm Blanket

  1. Anonymous says:

    Did you know that In Italy we have a region called Piedmont too? Piemonte in Italian… see you in 10 days Eido

Leave a Reply

