Stuffed Mushrooms

When I last visited with my daughter and her family in Naples, FL a short time ago, I enjoyed eating a home-cooked meal which my daughter prepared. The meal included meatloaf, stuffed mushrooms, and a potato concoction that had lots of vegetables blended in. I thoroughly enjoyed everything that was served, but I especially appreciated the stuffed mushrooms. I could have made, and would have enjoyed, an entire meal of those stuffed mushrooms. Coming home, I took out my “Recipe Book for Amateurs” and sure enough found a “simple” recipe for stuffed mushrooms. The next trip we made to the grocery store included purchasing some nice-sized mushrooms. When I checked my recipe book, I was surprised to read that I needed to add spinach souffle. What in the world is spinach souffle? I looked it up on Google and learned that it was a combination of milk, eggs, garlic, and salt and pepper so I set about making the mix. I removed the stems, stuffed the mushrooms with my “souffle” after dipping them in melted butter and baked them at 350 degrees for ten minutes. They were not bad, especially after we added parmesan cheese, but they weren’t what I had in Naples. I’m going to have to check with my daughter. I’ve already learned that I should have used Portobello mushrooms.

About bobosbest

I am a 79-year-old retired English teacher whose writing goals are fulfilled by publishing these blogs. I have a wonderful married partner, Dimitris Tsitsiras, who is from Greece. Life is good and still an adventure.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

