Grape versus Apple

I remember as a child visiting a friend’s house and being served a piece of buttered toast with apple jelly spread and a glass of cold milk. I was so impressed with the taste that, although it did not merit my remembering, every time since then that I have had apple jelly on a piece of bread, I have recalled that no piece of toast has ever tasted quite so good as that one did sixty years ago. One thing that I have learned is that my taster prefers apple to grape jelly big time. For some reason, apple jelly is obviously not as good a seller on grocery shelves as is grape jelly. How do I know? look at the size and number of jars. It is difficult for me to find a full-size jar of apple jelly while large grape, strawberry, apple butter jars are everywhere. I don’t know why my taste is more closely attuned to the taste of apple jelly, but perhaps it has to do with my enjoying apple juice over grape juice. When I’m on an airplane and I’m given a choice of beverages, I’m going to choose apple juice. What kind of jelly preferer are you?

apple

About bobosbest

I am a 79-year-old retired English teacher whose writing goals are fulfilled by publishing these blogs. I have a wonderful married partner, Dimitris Tsitsiras, who is from Greece. Life is good and still an adventure.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

