The Last Leaf

Those of you who follow my blogs know that I am a weather freak. I keep a running log of the rainfall, using as my instrument a rain gauge that I purchased from Oregon Scientific Store. My particular instrument measures and records rainfall when it amounts to at least .04 inches. The face of the instrument sits next to my bed while the measuring part of the instrument sits outside the sliding glass doors of my bedroom. When it starts to rain, I head to the bedroom, sit on the side of the bed, and wait for the first measurable rainfall. I have a skylight in the living room and, when the rainfall is substantial, I can hear the sound of pounding rain and look out the sliding glass doors at the falling rain. Only one thing can come between me and the accurate measurement–leaves in the container. Blockage must be removed and, to do so, I must slide open the door to remove the leaves. I must be most careful in October/November when the largest number of falling leaves occur.

About bobosbest

I am a 79-year-old retired English teacher whose writing goals are fulfilled by publishing these blogs. I have a wonderful married partner, Dimitris Tsitsiras, who is from Greece. Life is good and still an adventure.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

