Lula Mae’s Legacy (re-edited)

If you’ve been reading my blogs for a while, you have certainly noticed that I occasionally mention my best friends, Dan and Glenda Lawrence. I have known the Lawrences for many, many years. We raised children together. Now that I am retired and they are retired as well, we have a problem. Every summer, usually in May, they leave their Seminole, FL, home and drive to their summer home in the mountains of North Carolina. There they stay for approximately six months. During that time, I feel abandoned. I miss our breakfasts at the Golden Bear and our pizzas with coupons at the Pizza Hut followed by a movie at my house. When they first began leaving in the summer for Franklin, NC, Dan’s mother, Lula Mae, who was quite elderly, was in a nursing home. Not infrequently, they had to make trips back to Florida during the summer to take care of her. It meant that I was reunited with them for a short time every time they had to come down when some medical situation arose. I realized that, while I wanted Dan’s mother healthy, I was delighted when they came home to take care of her. I finally admitted to them that I really didn’t know how to pray. I’m afraid my wedge is now gone as Lula Mae has since passed away. I miss her…in many ways.

About bobosbest

I am a 79-year-old retired English teacher whose writing goals are fulfilled by publishing these blogs. I have a wonderful married partner, Dimitris Tsitsiras, who is from Greece. Life is good and still an adventure.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

