Friendship

I count it a privilege to have as many friends as I have. I have not always been the kind of person who makes friends easily. However, I have improved in that trait and have become the kind of friend who is fiercely loyal. My friend Harry Brown, whom I have known much of my adult life, will confirm that trait. At one point in my life, I was confronted with friends who seemingly had betrayed our friendship. When I examined the reasons, I remembered what I had been taught to me about my faith. True friendship is unconditional. At that time, I sat down and wrote the following in my journal on October 20, 1991 –  I dedicate myself to working toward being a friend who:

does not demand or expect
does not keep score
confronts only in love
upholds in prayer
sets an example when possible
does not judge
gives more than takes
is trustworthy
allows space
listens more than talks
affirms

Although I certainly have not always lived up to those aspirations, they have been and continue to be worthy goals.

About bobosbest

I am a 79-year-old retired English teacher whose writing goals are fulfilled by publishing these blogs. I have a wonderful married partner, Dimitris Tsitsiras, who is from Greece. Life is good and still an adventure.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Friendship

  1. Anonymous says:

    Friendship is always a sweet responsibility,never an opportunity. Thank you for being my friend Thom! Eido

Leave a Reply

