Creeping Crudity

Although I would not consider myself a prude, I’m very concerned about the crude
language that now flows unabashedly regardless of the place or circumstances. Today’s films seem to infer that “toilet” language is the current normal language of our
civilization. The F-word is used not only as a verb, but as an adjective, a
noun, and a hyphenated middle for a compound word. Courteous restraint appears
to have been cast aside on the assumption that all consider gutter language
acceptable. As an English teacher, while the language in class is properly
respectful, the language in the halls is frequently appalling. The language
decline does not appear to be one-sided. Women and men are equal abusers. I’m
not sure what has caused the acceptance of blatant profanity and crude language. I once taught a class in a drop-out prevention program and, when the students figured out that I
wouldn’t use profanity in class, one asked me, “Are you a preacher?” Although
I’m not a minister, I do have a reverent respect for appropriate language.

About bobosbest

I am a 79-year-old retired English teacher whose writing goals are fulfilled by publishing these blogs. I have a wonderful married partner, Dimitris Tsitsiras, who is from Greece. Life is good and still an adventure.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Creeping Crudity

  1. Anonymous says:

    IT IS NOT THE LANGUAGE EVOLUTION ..ARE THE PEOPLE THAT ARE UNLOADING THEIR FRUSTRATIONS VERBALLY ,ABUSING EVERYBODY AROUND THEM.. AND PROFANITY’S USE IS VERY CONTAGEOUS ..STUPID PERSONS THINK THEY ARE MORE IMPORTANT TALKING THAT WAY.. IT HAPPENS WITH THE ITALIAN LANGAGE TOO… EIDO

  2. Stefano says:

    unfortunatly as italian I must confirm that it is true!!!

Leave a Reply

