The Deplorables

I have done my best to stay away from the politics of this presidential campaign. I think all of my readers know that I am a registered Democrat and am supporting Hillary Clinton. I make no apology for that. One of Hillary’s latest criticism comes from her statement that half of Trump’s supporters belong in a “basket of deplorables.” A Republican friend of mine informed me that Hillary Clinton had just labeled him as a deplorable. My response was to have my friend check his belief system to determine whether he is a racist, a sexist, is homophobic, is xenophobic, or is Islamophobic which is how Mrs. Clinton defined those in that “basket.” If he does not fit into any of those labels, then he was not included in Hillary Clinton’s remark. She has apologized for the “half” designation in the remark. I am not ready to applaud her “basket of deplorables” statement, but I strongly believe that the Republican party has become largely the party of white people.

About bobosbest

I am a 79-year-old retired English teacher whose writing goals are fulfilled by publishing these blogs. I have a wonderful married partner, Dimitris Tsitsiras, who is from Greece. Life is good and still an adventure.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

