Strike Face

strikeWhile my bowling buddy is gone for the summer and at least part of the fall, I’m bowling with Dimitris, who, before he arrived here in the states to live with me, had never bowled. At first, he looked for a bowling ball at the alley after renting shoes as he had neither ball nor shoes. One Saturday, he tried bowling with my ball, and it worked. Since then, we have been using the same bowling ball, a 12-pounder. Little by little, Dimitris has improved. One week he got three strikes in a row in the 9th and 10th frames. He was elated, but his face showed nothing. Pan face. When I asked where the enthusiasm was, he continued to look as though he had done nothing. That was quite a while ago. The last time we bowled, he again got a strike and looked as though he had just gotten news of a death. I confronted him again and this time, I got, at least partially, the results I wanted–a big proud smile. I will continue to work on his “strike face” and pray that it will eventually come naturally¬†every next time he strikes.

 

About bobosbest

I am a 79-year-old retired English teacher whose writing goals are fulfilled by publishing these blogs. I have a wonderful married partner, Dimitris Tsitsiras, who is from Greece. Life is good and still an adventure.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Strike Face

  1. Dimitris says:

    I must smile and be more happy when I strike. Ha ha

  2. I will immediately grab your rss feed as I can’t find your email subscription link or newsletter service. Do you’ve any? Please let me know so that I could subscribe. Thanks.

    • bobosbest says:

      When you go to my website (www.bobosbest.wordpress.com), in the bottom right hand corner you will find a tab that will allow you to become a follower of this site. Thanks.

Leave a Reply

