Painless

Pain serves a purpose. For one thing, it shows us what it feels like when we don’t have any pain. It also lets us know that something is causing us to experience pain. I have been told by doctors that I have a high pain tolerance. That proved to be true in 1980 when I had pain in my side which resulted in my appendix bursting. My latest run-in with pain occurred the last time I went to the Pain Management office to have epidural shot #3 to ease the pain I experience when I am standing. In the office, I always fill out a form indicating where the pain is, how bad it is, and what eases it. As always, I wrote down that I was not in pain but that the pain occurs in my back when I am having pain and that the epidural shots appear to be helping. When I was called into the office to have my shot, I was told that I was there only for a conference and would not be getting a shot. During the conference, I explained to the nurse my problem with indicating pain. She listened and told me that I could not have a 3rd shot until September 26th. I made the appointment and was upset when I had a call from the office two days later informing me that my appointment had been canceled because I had written on the form that I was not in pain. I was told to indicate pain the next time I come in.

About bobosbest

I am a 79-year-old retired English teacher whose writing goals are fulfilled by publishing these blogs. I have a wonderful married partner, Dimitris Tsitsiras, who is from Greece. Life is good and still an adventure.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Painless

  1. Dimitris says:

    Live and Learn

Leave a Reply

