Dance of the Bed Sheets

On this, Dimitris’ and my first anniversary, I am remembering when I was living alone in my home and washed the bed sheets occasionally. Since my partner took over the housekeeping, he washes those sheets every Friday. For a while, he took care of the entire process, undressing the bed, putting the sheets in the washing machine, moving them into the dryer and checking on their progress until they were dry. Then he would fold them neatly. At some point, he decided to involve me. I wish I could say I accepted his invitation willingly, but I did not. However, he had a plan as to how to make me a willing participant. Folding the regular sheet was simple enough but he added at the end a little of tug-of-war. It took me a while to learn to stand my ground as we pulled out some of the wrinkles from the sheet. As we met to put the two ends together, we kissed. With the fitted sheets, I was more reluctant as it meant learning a process. Teaching me to point my finger at the corners and fold them into each other was tough, but we did it and sealed the effort again with a kiss. What had seemed like such a chore has become a delight.

About bobosbest

I am a 79-year-old retired English teacher whose writing goals are fulfilled by publishing these blogs. I have a wonderful married partner, Dimitris Tsitsiras, who is from Greece. Life is good and still an adventure.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

