Brother to Brother

My brother and I are 3 1/2 years apart in age, my being the elder. One of the aspects of our relationship that I have enjoyed has been arguing politics over the phone. My brother is a registered Republican whereas I am a Democrat. I have bragged many times about shouting at each other in disagreement regarding politics but always ending the phone calls with “I love you.” For various reasons, my brother opted to stop those phone calls and to deal with our disagreements via e-mail. Lately, those e-mails have resulted in each of us insulting the opinion of the other. It’s sad that partisan politics has come between us. Fortunately, we have both agreed that we should communicate for a while only about mutual interests, family, and entertainment (he is a movie/book reviewer). Regardless of who is elected president this fall, I hope that our different points of view will not interfere with our relationship as family. I compliment him for being the first to suggest we avoid political opinions until after this election is over. I love my brother. He is the only person who still calls me Tommy.

About bobosbest

I am a 79-year-old retired English teacher whose writing goals are fulfilled by publishing these blogs. I have a wonderful married partner, Dimitris Tsitsiras, who is from Greece. Life is good and still an adventure.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Brother to Brother

  1. Anonymous says:

    I still call you Tommy! Our son is a Thomas, and I still call him Tommy also while other than family call him Tom.

  2. Dimitris says:

    Typical kids.

  3. Anonymous says:

    Great story Bob !!! I’ve been told never ever to discuss neither religion nor politics with anyone, which is advice I exercise. Keeps me out of trouble…..

Leave a Reply

