Just About Aida

Do you work crossword puzzles? It is a great boredom breaker as well as allegedly an Alzheimer’s delayer. I have several books of puzzles and, in the past, worked every week on the New York Times Sunday puzzle. They are super tough. Recently, I was working on a puzzle that included two clues that I had mistakenly answered incorrectly. 1-Down was “Aida was one” (five-space answer); 6-Down was “just about” (five-space answer). At this point, I’d like for you to fill in the blanks with what might have been your answer. After doing that, you now can read my incorrect answers: 1-Down, “opera;” 6-Down, “almost.” I learned I was incorrect when a friend looked at the progress on my puzzle and pointed out that 1-Down and 6-Down were incorrect. The 6-Down answer came to me quickly: “nearly.” The 1-Down answer completely deluded me so I asked my friend for the answer which was “slave.” I should have noticed that Aida was not in quotation marks which would have indicated the play. I had missed that clue. How did you do? I doubt that this will convince you to be a crossword puzzler, but try out your skills occasionally with the puzzles in the newspaper.

About bobosbest

I am a 79-year-old retired English teacher whose writing goals are fulfilled by publishing these blogs. I have a wonderful married partner, Dimitris Tsitsiras, who is from Greece. Life is good and still an adventure.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

